Story of the day

I try to be….

His peace.

Y’all, I love my hubby. Like deep in the bones, makes my heart pitter-patter, goofy smile just looking at him love my hubby. Even when he doesn’t hang up his freshly washed shirts or drips water on the bedroom floor after his shower. I just love me some him.

We’ve been through the things. All of them. And probably some that can’t even be identified. Yet, we will be celebrating 16 years married in July. Yup, I love him.

My darling husband is currently in school earning his degree in pastoral ministries and business. He wants to be the best pastor he possibly can be. Well, he’s almost done aside from two classes. Math classes that is. I wish I could say these were those super easy, walk in the park, do them with your eyes closed math classes, but they aren’t. It hurts my heart to hear him describe the hours of homework and test taking he’s enduring. What pastor on this planet do you know uses factoring equations with square roots while preparing a sermon???

I wish I could help but I’m gonna be real, I’d be useless! I am a highly intelligent woman. Earned a couple of degrees. I’m efficient, witty, organized, and hardworking. And I still pronounce Wednesday wed-nes-day to write it correctly. Factoring equations is not my jam.

By the end of day, he’s mentally worn out. His recent obsession with Peloton rides helps calm his stress some, but I can see the strain slowly weighing him down. I keep pointing at the light at the end of the educational tunnel but sometimes I wonder if he’d rather set his computer on fire than finish his math homework.

Each night, we end the day curled up in bed. Usually, I curl into his side, siphoning his heat because I’m always cold. But, a few nights ago, he curled into me and dozed off. And it hit me. I tend to doze off on him when I’m curled up against him because he’s my peace and safe space. He curled up and fell soundly asleep in my arms because I’m his peace.

I know I can be a handful. I’m goofy and sarcastic. Stubborn and I speak in movie quotes and song lyrics. But, even when I frustrate him and drive him batty, I am his peace. I am his biggest cheerleader. His champion. I’ll go ten rounds if I have to because I’ve got his back. I hope he always remembers that. Even when he’s banging his head against the desk trying to graph parabolas!

My heart ❤️

Leave a comment