Story of the day

Here we go….

Again!!!

Well, the time has arrived. The last child of the Chaos Crew is preparing for that journey into high school. Y’all I don’t know if I’m ready for it.

We’ve been down this road before. Kids hitting that second semester of eighth grade and suddenly the talks of high school schedules begin. Before we know it, we have informational flyer about classes and clubs all over the dining room table. Conversations center around what’s the best foreign language class and should they take honors anything. We start weighing the different history classes and trying to shuffle in a little bit of fun as well.

And this last one, she’s not like the others. She’s social. She enjoys people and doing things and being a part of things. Everything to be really honest. She’s a theater kid and sings in choir. She loves art but enjoys reading. History isn’t her favorite and she likes writing. So, the decisions are scattered and ever-changing.

As we sit and discuss the pros and cons of AP Human Geography and which math class she’ll be in, my momma heart aches a little bit. She’s the final one. The baby of this ridiculously crazy bunch. She’ll be the one that does all the things. I can already see the giggling gaggle of girls trying on dress after dress for dances. The color coded schedule I’ll need to keep up with her classes and clubs and sports. The text messages letting me know she’ll be done with this rehearsal or that group meeting at some random time.

Being a mom is awesome. And terrifying. And rewarding. I love the title mom. If I do nothing else, I can say I was mom to five truly cool kids. But, it doesn’t stop the ache that comes as I watch them grow into the world. The 18 years a parent gets to help guide them doesn’t seem long enough. I consider myself one of those truly lucky mommas whose older kids still come home for help, hugs, and hot meals.

Mentally, I’m working on toughening up and being ready for that final kiddos walk across the stage. I know it’ll be here before I know it. But, my momma heart may take a little longer to fully be ready for the baby of the bunch to fly off into the sunset.

Here we go again….

Leave a comment